What does it mean?

Where did I come up with the title of my blog? What does it mean you ask? Let’s start from the beginning where I got the inspiration for my name.

A few months ago, during one of my online classes, we were asked to create a design manifesto and this is what I came up with:

Design as your heart desires. Think outside of the box. Be Original. Inspire the minds of others. Let creativity lead the way!

I chose Design Outside the Box because it combines the first two parts of my design manifesto and if felt right.

Think outside the box: A metaphor that means to think differently, unconventionally, or from a new perspective. This phrase often refers to novel or creative thinking. (borrowed from wikipedia)

Essentially, Design Outside the Box means to design in a different and unconventional manner, not conforming to the norms of the design industry but paving your own way and creating a style different from everyone else.

Below I included one of my very first designs. This design means so much to me. I did it on the fly. It wasn’t commissioned. Just plain ol’ fun art! This design showed me that I can be creative and have a style all my own. Please leave comments and tell me what you think. Remember this was one of the first projects I did.

RVBackground2

Leave a Reply

